Skip to content

Notes from the first week of classes

January 22, 2013

This is my first time teaching two sections of a lecture class in addition to my Hands-on-Science class. Collectively I have about 330 students this semester which is about four times as many students as I had last semester. Some notes regarding the first week of lecture classes:

  • I drastically underestimated the amount of time I would spend replying to emails regarding technology problems, students trying to get into the class, etc.
  • At the end of the first week I instituted a “If the answer is already on our website then I will not respond to your email” policy. This helps.
  • Clickers are awesome except when they don’t work. Right now clickers count as participation credit which means anyone whose clicker isn’t working is emailing me daily. I need to see what some other people think about credit/no credit for clickers.
  • I need to keep notes on what percentage of students get each question correct before and after peer discussion. I realized this half way through the third class and hopefully will remember from now on.
  • I’m using Screencast-o-Matic to record videos of me solving example problems. Diagrams and equations in Keynote take awhile so I might try working it out on paper and taking pictures of each step with my phone.
  • I’m going to offer students the opportunity to do their own screencast of a solution in place of two participation grades. This is intended for students whose clickers aren’t working yet but I’m a little worried everyone will do it and overwhelm me.
  • I have two graduate student TAs and I’m not exactly sure how to use them. At the moment I have them setting up four office hours a week and that’s it.
  • Homework and exams are currently multiple choice but I would like students to turn in some free response questions. I’m not sure how to handle this with 280 students.
  • The first week has been all about damage control. Hopefully I can get a rhythm down and find some time to do research.
From → Teaching

4 Comments
  1. Good Luck this week! I can’t even imagine. Can TAs circulate in lecture, or help assess screen casts, or free response questions?

  2. I have two LAs who circulate in lecture so I’m not asking the TAs to come to lecture. I will certainly have TAs help assess free responses and screen casts if I get overwhelmed.

  3. secretseasons permalink

    Not sure what software you’re using, but in iClicker you can save all the response data for votes and re-votes and then you don’t have to separately take notes on percent correct.

  4. We do use iClickers so I’ll have to look into that. Thanks for the tip secretseasons!

Leave a Reply

